Latest News

November 20, 2014

McCain-Bowman Scholarship Created
At the end of June, Elizabeth “Beth” Bowman, MPA, RHIA, FAHIMA, retired after 40 years in the Department of Health Informatics and Information Management (HIIM), making significant contributions over four decades to the department, the college, the university and the health informatics discipline.

November 19, 2014

Karen C. Johnson, MD, MPH '85 Awarded Professorship
Karen C. Johnson, MD, MPH, who has brought more than $40 million in research dollars to the University of Tennessee Health Science Center (UTHSC) and is the principal investigator on five currently funded research grants or contracts, has been awarded the UTHSC College of Medicine Endowed Professorship in Women’s Health.

November 18, 2014

W. Mark Tucker, DDS ’66 Outstanding Alumnus Award Recipient
The University of Tennessee College of Dentistry Alumni Association has selected W. Mark Tucker, DDS ’66, as the 2015 recipient of the Outstanding Alumnus Award. The Alumni Association’s highest honor is presented to Tucker in recognition of his contributions to his alma mater and the dental profession.

November 17, 2014

Physician Assistant White Coat
On November 14 members of the College of Health Professions' first Physician Assistant Studies class held their white coat ceremony.

November 12, 2014

Utensil University
It’s competitive out there. A new graduate, even one with great grades and real-world experience, still might have to make an additional good impression on a potential employer.

November 05, 2014

APhA-ASP Chapter Wins Awards
Atlanta, Georgia was host to the American Pharmacists Association-Academy of Student Pharmacists (APhA-ASP) Midyear Regional Meeting (MRM) this year.

November 03, 2014

Brandy DeWeese (DNP FNP '13) Selected for AANP Program
Brandy DeWeese (DNP FNP '13) has been selected for the first class of American Association of Nurse Practitioners (AANP) Future Leaders Program.

October 30, 2014

Evans Appointed to University of Tennessee Board of Trustees
Governor Bill Haslam has recently appointed William E. Evans, PharmD (’73, ’74), to the University of Tennessee Board of Trustees.

October 28, 2014

School system names new health coordinator
Laurie Stanton ('07), a former state health department program director, has been named the new health coordinator for the Maury County Public Schools.

September 08, 2014

Executive Dean Position Named for Dr. Robert Kaplan
It is with great pleasure that we share news of the continued generosity and foresight of Dr. Robert J. Kaplan, UTHSC College of Medicine alumnus and benefactor. By virtue of his most recent contribution, we have named the college’s top executive position after Dr. Kaplan. Dr. David Stern, who has led the COM since April 2011, is now the Robert Kaplan Executive Dean for the UTHSC College of Medicine.

"The UT College of Pharmacy gave us an excellent pharmacy education, and it has encouraged pharmacists to expand their practice with new clinical services."
David Shepard (Class of ’75)  »